Starting the process

March 14, 2009 at 2:27 am Leave a comment

Hello everyone!  I am officially starting up my first time home buyer’s blog.  My husband Jeff and I are hoping to buy a home this year and I plan to document the process.  Below I am re-posting my intro from our wedding website, jeffandkimwedding.com.  Enjoy!

Jeff and I have now been married close to six months and everything is going great. The latest with us is that we are hoping to buy a home this year. We have been doing our research and reading books on the home buying process. We’ve also been saving up for a down payment.

On our “must have list” for a house is 3 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, finished basement, dining room, and recently updated.  We definitely don’t want a fixer-upper! So far we are considering Westlake, Rocky River, Fairview Park, and North Olmsted. Jeff and I have been looking at houses online to get an idea of what is out there in our price range. So far the best houses in our price range seem to be in North Olmsted! I have found so many there that I am interested in! A lot of split levels too.

The next step for us is getting our loan pre-approval which we should be doing this month. We’ve already gotten rates from a couple of lenders. Once we’re pre-approved we are actually going to start looking at houses in person – not just online! I figure we’ll probably end up buying a house sometime between July and October. Luckily we don’t have to rush because we are renting right now, and our landlord just asked us to give 45 days notice before we are going to move out. So we aren’t currently under a lease. Basically we can move whenever we want, but we want to do it before the end of the year so we can get the first time home buyer tax credit.

Entry filed under: Research.

Pre-approval

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 18,238 hits
Come see me at WMC Fest 2012!

