Let’s keep looking

May 14, 2009 at 1:07 pm Leave a comment

After Jeff and I took a second look at the house in my previous post, we decided not to put in an offer and to continue on our house hunt. Sure that house had a lot of what we were looking for, and it was in a good location. But on the down side, it needed a new roof, furnace, windows, and electrical updates. All that would cost quite a bit of money and that place was already priced at the top of our budget. We decided that we want a house with more “behind the scenes” updates such as the roof and furnace, and the decor is not as important. It’s hard to look at rooms with ugly paint and carpet colors along with old out dated fixtures, but we will have to try to look past that, because that is something that would be more fun to update! Does anyone really have fun getting a new roof? Probably not, it’s just a necessary expense. I would rather move into a home and be able to change the look of things when I felt like it and had the money, rather than moving into a home and being required to get a new roof within a year or less!

Besides that, this Rocky River house never felt right to me. It never felt like home. When Jeff and I first looked at it online, I just thought it was ok, I wasn’t super interested in it. When we looked at it in person I basically felt the same. There were things I definitely liked about it, but many more that I didn’t like. I know when we find the right house I will be very excited! I have learned to trust my instincts, and my instincts have told me to keep looking!

Entry filed under: Home Buying Tips, Houses.

A Great House! Have we found our first house?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 18,304 hits
Come see me at WMC Fest 2012!

