Painting and supplies!

July 18, 2009 at 1:25 am 1 comment

Recently Jeff and I have been to both Home Depot and Lowe’s to pick up painting supplies and look at some color options. We have spent close to $100 on painting supplies. I hope we aren’t getting too much! We picked up:

  • Rosin paper (to cover the pergo floors)
  • putty knife
  • painting tape
  • spackle
  • a roll of “shop rags”
  • paint tray
  • one regular paint roller and one extending roller
  • two 1.5 inch brushes
  • canvas drop cloth (for the carpet)
  • mini 3 inch roller
  • small cup for use with paint brushes

Are we forgetting anything?  As for the colors, we are planning to paint the kitchen green.  And since the dining room is connected with the kitchen we’ll paint the back dining room wall with a darker shade of green.  I think it will look really cool!  Some of our favorite color swatches we have picked up from Lowe’s include “leafy rise”, “northern glen”, “prairie sage” and “aloe thorn”.  I love the names they come up with for paint colors!  Do you think somebody has the job to name all the colors of paint by a certain brand?

I am not sure of the exact shade for the office yet.  (currently the room is pink so that cannot stay!)  The carpet is blue so we have to work with that.
bedroom

I was thinking of a very light blueish gray for that room.  I just got my free quart of Glidden paint in “arctic stone” so we’ll test the color out and see if it is a good fit.

arctic stone

I am trying to determine if we will need primer or not.  Painting pros say to use it before putting on a new color, but my parents say they never use it.  I know if you don’t use primer you’ll likely have to apply more coats of paint to cover the old color.  I think we might need it because the current kitchen color is a darker yellow shade and the green we are going to do will be pretty light.  What do you think?  I’m open to any tips!!

Entry filed under: Decorating.

Decorating My new shower curtain!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lanette woll  |  July 19, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Hi!

    I like the look of the Arctic stone for the office. That color will look great with the blue carpet, and a good contrast since the carpet is a dark blue, this will be a light, “barely there” color to offset the dark. Good choice!
    Also I love the idea of the darker green on the back dining room wall, contrasting with the lighter green. I think that will look awesome.
    Sounds like you thought of everything for painting supplies, thats better than WE ever do…..
    It is true, we never use primer but we always have to use at least two, sometimes even three coats of paint. So, I guess it will be one way or the other. Use primer and maybe then only one coat…I don’t know….

    GOOD JOB, GUYS!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 18,304 hits
Come see me at WMC Fest 2012!

