New Bunny

July 7, 2010 at 11:42 pm 3 comments

Jeff and I have adopted a new bunny from the Cleveland APL!  We already had one bunny, named Cocoa, who I have had for about four years.  Cocoa is a boy and the new bunny is a girl.  We have not named her yet though.  She is already spayed, so I do not have to worry about her having babies!  Baby bunnies would be very cute but I don’t have space or time for more bunnies and I don’t think I know anyone who would want one either.  I would hate to contribute to the high pet population and overcrowding of animal shelters.

I have known for a while that I wanted a second bunny and now seemed like the right time to get one.  I found a great cage on Ebay and put that all together.  It’s a really big “condo” with two levels!  Check it out.
bun condo

After it was all together, the cage almost did not fit in the office because it is so big.  We had to take the office door off in order to get it in!  It was a challenge but now the cage is set and hopefully we don’t have to move it for a while.  The office doesn’t even feel cramped with both my desk, Jeff’s desk, and two cages in here.  The room is a pretty good size.  Eventually we can put the two bunny cages next to eachother, but for now they are on opposite sides of the room.  Here is our new bun in her cage!

new bunny

We brought the new bunny home and Cocoa did not notice for a couple hours because he was sleeping in his castle. When he finally came out and noticed the new bunny, he was frozen in place for several minutes just sitting and staring at her! Then all of a sudden he ran back into his castle and thumped for 5 minutes! In case you are not familiar with bunny language, thumping indicates unhappiness or danger. Cocoa sure was not giving the new lady a very warm welcome! Since that first day we brought her back, I think Cocoa is getting used to her. I have noticed many times they are both eating, sleeping, or drinking water at the same time! I hope eventually they will be good friends.

Entry filed under: Pets.

Mini Bedroom Makeover Painting Complete

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea  |  July 8, 2010 at 10:40 am

    aww! I just checked my e-mail and saw this post. I am glad you got the new bunny! I hope they will be good companions for each other. 🙂 Does the new one have a name?

    Reply
    • 2. Kim  |  July 8, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      Thanks Chelsea! You and Liam will have to come over and meet her. Jeff suggested Daisy as her name, which I like, but I haven’t decided for sure yet!

      Reply
  • 3. lanette woll  |  July 10, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    She’s a beauty! Cocoa is probably just awed by her beauty– I am sure they will get used to each other in time and will be good bunny friends! Keep in mind, Cocoa was an “only bunny” for 4 years!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 18,271 hits
Come see me at WMC Fest 2012!

