Living Room Makeover Progress

January 17, 2011 at 1:32 pm 4 comments

If you remember from my previous post, Jeff and I are working on a new color scheme for the living room.  We worked with an interior designer a few months ago, and now have been getting items on our own to add to the room. Here are the things we picked out.

For Christmas, my sister got us a nice dark red throw, which is shown here on our couch.  It is really warm and cozy!
red blanket

We got this nice lamp on sale at JCPenney.  I think it will really look good in front of the new curtains, which will be put up after the painting is done.
lamp
Speaking of painting, we still aren’t quite sure when it will be done.  Jeff talked with the company who did some painting for us in the past and they worked out a trade.  Jeff would create a website for them and we would get some rooms painted in exchange.  Unfortunately the process has been pretty slow.  The owner of the company is not very computer savvy and couldn’t figure out how to view the website proofs that Jeff emailed him.  Without much feedback, Jeff couldn’t go on creating the rest of the website so things were at a standstill.  At this point, I think Jeff and the owner of that company are planning to meet in person.  This way Jeff can explain the website design and get his feedback, and we can find out when we can get the living room painted.  I am very excited about it and hope it can be done soon!

Another new item we got to go with the living room color scheme is this rug from JCPenney.  We have it by the front door to put shoes on. (good thing to do so your carpet doesn’t get dirty and wet!)
rug
This rug was a great find as it has all the colors in it that we’ll be using in the room. I was hoping to find a bigger size of this same rug, so we could put it under our dining room table. It was supposed to be available on the JCPenney website, but so far I have had no luck finding it. Stay tuned for the before and after living room photos, once the painting is done and new curtains hung!

Entry filed under: Decorating.

2010 in review Living Room Painting

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea  |  January 17, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    that’s exciting, at least you have some things going. I like that you went with colors and designs that reflect the era in which your house was built. I always like when people take inspiration from the architectural style of their homes. Those are nice mid-century choices. I must say that I would choose a barrel shade for that lamp. the circular proportions would compliment the circles patterns and modern lines you have going in the rest of the design ideas. Yeah, I can’t wait to start decorating our house one of these days. I actually like those curtains you currently have hanging. That sort of traditional pattern would look nice in our very old house. lemme know if you would perhaps consider selling them to us? we are in desperate need of A LOT of window treatments. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Chelsea  |  January 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    http://tinyurl.com/4bbppz2

    there’s a barrel shade on a lamp similar in style to your current lamp, I think. yay! I don’t know if you’d like this, but the barrel shade is classic mid-century and it’s also totally sophisticated and modern at the same time.

    Reply
    • 3. Kim  |  January 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm

      You are right Chelsea, I think the barrel shade would look better. I didn’t give the lamp too much thought, I just wanted to get something that was on sale and a certain color. I don’t totally love that lamp so I could put it in a different room perhaps!

      Reply
  • 4. lanette woll  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Your livingroom is really shaping up! That new rug is really pretty.
    It is too pretty to put shoes and boots on though! If I had it by my door I’d probably end up putting the boots and shoes BESIDE it and it would sit there like a decoration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 18,304 hits
Come see me at WMC Fest 2012!

