Check out the new couch

July 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm 3 comments

Jeff and I have recently purchased a new couch (or sectional as these are called)! Shopping for one was a long process, we looked in at least five different stores. La-Z-boy had several couches that we really liked, but they were too expensive. We ended up making our purchase at Value City Furniture, they had the best selection of modern looking couches that were in our price range. We decided that the “cocoa” color would look best in our living room out of the 5 color options that were available. Here it is:

new sectional

It is the most comfortable couch ever! Quite an improvement over the old black hand me down ones we had. Our old couch and love seat have made their way down to the basement now. The day I got home and saw the sectional in the living room, my first thought was – “It is way too big!” It is a lot taller and wider than what we previously had and it didn’t look right to me for a while. I am accustomed to the size now and I think it fits the room well.

Now of course after getting the new furniture, I do not like the look of our old coffee table with it. Several years ago we bought that coffee table and it is pretty big because it has storage space and also you can lift up the top of it. I think we will eventually get a new coffee table about half the size of our current one. We just need something more simple in the room. If you are in the market for a coffee table, let me know, I will consider selling it!

tray from Pier 1

You may have noticed the cool new tray on the coffee table too. It was purchased at Pier 1 just this past weekend. It works really well with our color scheme! Jeff and I have a lot more home improvements we are working on this summer including a living room photo wall and updates to our half bathroom, so look for those posts soon!

Entry filed under: Decorating, Furniture.

New Futon Mouse in the house

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea  |  July 15, 2011 at 7:37 am

    very nice! We are currently looking for a sofa/sectional too. I haven’t decided what will fit the space yet. Lots of measuring! It’s always exciting to decorate!…good luck with your picture wall! I wanna see it.

    Reply
  • 2. lanette woll  |  July 15, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Nice tray! The sectional is beautiful and I know just what you mean about whenever you get new furniture, its kinda an initial shock. That also happens to us every time we get new furniture—the feeling of “oh its too big!” That was the dismayed feeling I had last fall when the dining room furniture was delivered. The chairs looked so tall, the table looked so much longer than the previous ones–my heart sank to my feet as I thought “WHAT was I THINKING!”

    Reply
  • 3. Looking Back at 2011 « Kim and Jeff's First Home  |  January 9, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    […] scheme including art work, candles, a rug, and a clock. The final addition to the living room was a new sectional which we bought in May of 2011. The sectional is so comfortable! Jeff and I both have our own side […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 18,271 hits
Come see me at WMC Fest 2012!

